Go back
THE OFFICIAL DIRECTORY OF CONTEMPORARY ARTISTS
Current locale language
Tinguely

When Jean Tinguely began to make assemblages at the same time. Working from found materials, he quickly became fascinated by the ongoing discussion about how mechanization and industrial innovation had affected modern society. He then dramatically modified these static works by setting them in motion. Tinguely spent the rest of his career studying the fascination that these creations in movement had on the public.


A childhood and classical education


On May 22, 1925, Tinguely was born in Paris. Fribourg, Switzerland, but his family soon moved to Fribourg, Switzerland. Basel. The only child of two working-class parents, Tinguely spends a lot of time alone, at home. explore its picturesque surroundings. He started creating shop window decorations as an apprentice in 1940, at at the age of fifteen. He began his studies at the Kunstgewerbeschule the following year and continued until 1945.


They are Kurt Schwitters and Marcel Duchamp who first had an impact on Tinguely. He is particularly attracted to through their use of found objects, which are an important characteristic of the Dada movement. The propensity for social disobedience which has long permeated society. the community artistic and society in general attracted him. Tinguely established his own style by merging found objects of the type seen in Dada works with the new emphasis of the installation which has been later developed at the Bauhaus school of design by artists like Paul Klee.


His Parisian adventure


After his marriage in 1951 to the Swiss painter and sculptor Eva Aeppli and her desire to continue her professional life, Tinguely settles at agrave; Paris. With his first personal exhibition, which took place in 1954 at the Galerie Arnaux, he enjoyed enormous success. He also participates in a number of exhibitions focused on avant-garde ensembles from this era. His first performance was with International Happenings in 1951. Shortly after, he began to perform. exhibit with a group called ZERO which has been created in Germany by Otto Piene and embraced the aesthetic principle of minimalism. The artists of ZERO were looking for a framework for their work based on on contemporary culture in order to move away from the tragedies of the Second World War. At that time, a group called New Realism, founded in by Pierre Restan y and Yves Klein, includes works by other artistes contemporaries such as Christo, Raymond Haines, Martial Raysse and Niki de Saint Phalle, and Tinguely also participates intheir exhibitions.

 


Towards performance art


Tinguely's work eventually evolved into a kind of performance art when it included components that work and destroy themselves. A machine that generates abstract paintings in large quantities. made his debut at the Paris Biennale of 1959, which is an illustration of this. These devices were referred to as "metamatic" due to their autonomous nature. The conflict between creativity and creativity and the human expression that exists in society. industrialized was the goal of Tinguely. These pieces are considered satirical by critics and contemporary abstract expressionists.


Tinguely began incorporate the notion of high risk and unpredictability in his works because of his passion for car racing. The best-known manifestation of this passion is Homage to New York, whose world premiere took place on March 18, 1960 at the Museum of Modern Art. She paved the way for later self-destructive works like La Vittoria and Study for an End of the World (1962). (1970). These sculptures had a sense of comedy and sarcasm, while being composed of what appeared to be unrelated found pieces, similarly Strangely arranged mechanics and cacophonous sound effects. Each sculpture was considered by the artist as a living, breathing being, capable of speaking and moving by itself. While masking his dark comments on mass production and the increasing industrialization of society through frank humor and amusing aspects, Tinguely was delighted to know that spectators could find pleasure in his work.


In accordance with his antics and his rebellious attitude, Tinguely joins the Kuttlebutzer, a group of artists which serves as a committee for unofficial artistic performance for the largest annual carnival "Fasnacht" in Basel, Switzerland. This group of protest artists took the initiative to define the artistic direction of the festivities. After starting in 1974, Tinguely took part; for about 20 years.


His works reflect the humor and charm of his behavior, which allows him to form meaningful connections with officials and socialites, which translates into substantial orders and sponsorship opportunities.


His association with the Bechtler family, a prosperous Swiss family whose extensive art collection is on display at the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art Charlotte, North Carolina, is an enduring illustration of this. Many of the objects discovered, such as a pair of deer antlers, which eventually found their way into his works, were attributed to him. first spotted in the Bechtler house.


Tinguely and Niki de Saint Phalle first bonded over their shared creative communities. At the time, they were both married to each other. different spouses. Despite A significant generational gap and different socio-economic origins - she was from a French aristocratic family, while he was - their connection was gradually deepened and resulted in marriage. They each had a strong sense of individualism, like other artistic couples of the time, and this sense of individuality shone through when they worked together. Unlike the majority Artist couples of the era, such as Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo, Christo and Jean-Claude, and Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner, this partnership was dominated by artists. by men. The "Bonnie and Clyde" of modern art, they are called that.

During their decades of collaboration, many joint works have been created. inspired by the basis of their partnership, which was based on their mutual love for artistic creation. One of the first important joint works was exhibited at the Moderna Museet. It depicted a large female figure in a reclining position, legs spread to allow access to spectators. This piece is one of the many "Nanas" sculptures by Saint Phalle. The "orgasm machine" by Tinguely, a sculpture kinetic that he created, was housed at inside the figure. The duo worked on together on numerous other large-scale sculptural pieces, including Le Paradis Fantastique à agrave; Stockholm and the Stravinsky Fountain at Paris. The two artists assisted each other in the creation and installation of their individual works when not working together.


The twilight of his life


In the 1970s, the artist sculptor returned alone to Switzerland, while Saint Phalle remained in France. When they work on a joint project, they meet at the office. his home in France. During this period and until his death in 1991, he continued to do so. create self-destructive works as well as important public projects. In 1970, Tinguely built a massive phallus which he exploded in front of Milan's cathedral. A number of collaborations with Saint Phalle and others are included in these later works. It is not surprising that his wife continued to do so. support him after his death, as they had done during their careers. The Cyclops, a vast collaborative work that lasted over 20 years. 25 years old, was supervised by Niki de Saint Phalle, who also donated several of her pieces to the museum. important collectors and institutions, thus perpetuating the legacy of one of the artists sculpteurs the most innovative of the modern artistic movement.

Découvrez quelques oeuvres inspirées de Tinguely

Named contemporary work « Performance », Made by LIKIS
246 €
W. 21 x L. 25 x D. 25 cm
likis
Named contemporary work « ZHURONG », Made by LIKIS
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 55 x L. 32 x D. 32 cm
likis
Named contemporary work « Les oiseaux », Made by ALYS DANS LES NUAGES
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 8 x L. 7 x D. 7 cm
alys dans les nuages
Named contemporary work « INSIGHT », Made by LIKIS
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 60 x L. 25 x D. 25 cm
likis
Named contemporary work « VOYAGER 1 », Made by LIKIS
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 60 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
likis
Named contemporary work « Conquête spataile », Made by LIKIS
196 €
W. 31 x L. 12 x D. 12 cm
likis
Named contemporary work « Pièce Murale décorative en émail sur cuivre et sur feuilles d'argent en trois dimensions '' Color Panther '' », Made by LES éMAUX ARéDIENS
1 450 €
W. 31 x L. 29 x D. 29 cm
les émaux arédiens
Named contemporary work « Don Quichotte, en technique mixte », Made by ROXIO
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 25 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
roxio
Named contemporary work « AZUR », Made by AMELIE AMELOT
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 0 x L. 0 x D. 0 cm
amelie amelot
Named contemporary work « Le flamant  », Made by THIERRY-GALL.COM
MAKE AN OFFER
thierry-gall.com
Named contemporary work « ROSES DE CEDRE N°23 », Made by AMELIE AMELOT
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 0 x L. 0 x D. 0 cm
amelie amelot
Named contemporary work « Tessa et Erika », Made by MURIEL MAREC
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 40 x L. 95 x D. 95 cm
muriel marec
Named contemporary work « Re-création 5- 2017 », Made by JEAN PIERRE  BERTAINA
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 35 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
jean pierre bertaina
Named contemporary work « Robot #2 », Made by CARLITO
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 15 x L. 35 x D. 35 cm
carlito
Named contemporary work « Récupération II - 1986 », Made by JEAN PIERRE  BERTAINA
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 62 x L. 80 x D. 80 cm
jean pierre bertaina
Named contemporary work « Agazapa. », Made by CEDRIC PONGE
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 12 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
cedric ponge
Named contemporary work « JAMES WEBB », Made by LIKIS
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 60 x L. 25 x D. 25 cm
likis
Named contemporary work « G'Art au gorille », Made by THIERRY-GALL.COM
MAKE AN OFFER
thierry-gall.com
Named contemporary work « Assemblage 6- 2020 », Made by JEAN PIERRE  BERTAINA
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 50 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
jean pierre bertaina
Named contemporary work « l'avion dragon », Made by LIKIS
1 870 €
W. 58 x L. 23 x D. 23 cm
likis
Named contemporary work « AKATSUKI », Made by LIKIS
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 60 x L. 35 x D. 35 cm
likis
Named contemporary work « "petit coin lecture en bord de rivière". », Made by GUI
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 4 x L. 2 x D. 2 cm
gui
Named contemporary work « UPCYCLING ROBOTS », Made by +BRAUER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 35 x L. 70 x D. 70 cm
+brauer
Named contemporary work « fontaine paradisio », Made by THIERRY-GALL.COM
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 1 x L. 2 x D. 2 cm
thierry-gall.com
Named contemporary work « Récupération I - 1986 », Made by JEAN PIERRE  BERTAINA
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 54 x L. 54 x D. 54 cm
jean pierre bertaina
Named contemporary work « K-Je -2009- », Made by ALAIN MERCIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 20 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
alain mercier
Named contemporary work « Heron moisson », Made by DAVID CASTAGNET
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 80 x L. 200 x D. 200 cm
david castagnet
Named contemporary work « Ti bonom », Made by CEDRIC PONGE
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 28 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
cedric ponge
Named contemporary work « ROSE DE CEDRE N°11 », Made by AMELIE AMELOT
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 0 x L. 0 x D. 0 cm
amelie amelot
Named contemporary work « Vitraux de l'Eglise Sainte-Thérèse, Douai », Made by JUDITH DEBRUYN
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 400 x L. 400 x D. 400 cm
judith debruyn
Named contemporary work « QUEEN au Wembley Stadium - 1985 », Made by LIKIS
387 €
W. 36 x L. 16 x D. 16 cm
likis
Named contemporary work « L'aDorée », Made by MéTAL'ORPHOSE
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 88 x D. 88 cm
métal'orphose
Named contemporary work « Hiboux », Made by ANTHONY LAMBERT
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 35 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
anthony lambert
Named contemporary work « Lilia », Made by ISHA
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 34 x L. 7 x D. 7 cm
isha
Named contemporary work « Time Trash », Made by CARLITO
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 40 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
carlito
Named contemporary work « la lampe "Hirondelle" », Made by LIKIS
289 €
W. 10 x L. 36 x D. 36 cm
likis

Remonter

Ce site utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. En naviguant sur le site vous acceptez Notre politique de confidentialité.

Ok
Tinguely

Lorsque Jean Tinguely a commencé à réaliser des assemblages à partir de matériaux trouvés, il a rapidement été fasciné par la discussion en cours sur la façon dont la mécanisation et l'innovation industrielle avaient affecté la société moderne. Il a alors modifié de façon spectaculaire ces œuvres statiques en les mettant en mouvement. Tinguely a passé le reste de sa carrière à étudier la fascination que ces créations en mouvement exerçaient sur le public.


Une enfance et éducation classique


Le 22 mai 1925, Tinguely naît à Fribourg, en Suisse, mais sa famille déménage bientôt à Bâle. Enfant unique de deux parents de la classe ouvrière, Tinguely passe beaucoup de temps seul, à explorer son environnement pittoresque. Il a commencé à créer des décorations de vitrines de magasins en tant qu'apprenti en 1940, à l'âge de quinze ans. Il commence ses études à la Kunstgewerbeschule l'année suivante et les poursuit jusqu'en 1945.


Ce sont Kurt Schwitters et Marcel Duchamp qui ont d'abord eu un impact sur Tinguely. Il est particulièrement attiré par leur utilisation d'objets trouvés, qui sont une caractéristique importante du mouvement Dada. La propension à la désobéissance sociale qui a longtemps imprégné la communauté artistique et la société en général l'a attiré. Tinguely a établi son propre style en fusionnant des objets trouvés du type de ceux que l'on voit dans les œuvres Dada avec la nouvelle emphase de l'installation qui a été développée plus tard à l'école de design Bauhaus par des artistes comme Paul Klee.


Son aventure parisienne


Après son mariage en 1951 avec la peintre et sculptrice suisse Eva Aeppli et son désir de poursuivre sa vie professionnelle, Tinguely s'installe à Paris. Avec sa première exposition personnelle, qui a lieu en 1954 à la Galerie Arnaux, il connaît un énorme succès. Il participe également à un certain nombre d'expositions centrées sur les ensembles d'avant-garde de cette époque. Sa première représentation a eu lieu avec International Happenings en 1951. Peu de temps après, il a commencé à exposer avec un groupe appelé ZERO qui a été créé en Allemagne par Otto Piene et a embrassé le principe esthétique du minimalisme. Les artistes de ZERO cherchaient un cadre pour leur travail basé sur la culture contemporaine afin de s'éloigner des tragédies de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. À cette époque, un groupe appelé Nouveaux Réalisme, fondé par Pierre Restany et Yves Klein, inclut des œuvres d'autres artistes contemporains tels que Christo, Raymond Haines, Martial Raysse et Niki de Saint Phalle, et Tinguely participe également à leurs expositions.

 


Vers l’art de la performance


L'œuvre de Tinguely a fini par évoluer vers une sorte d'art de la performance lorsqu'il a inclus des composants qui fonctionnent et se détruisent eux-mêmes. Une machine qui génère des peintures abstraites en grande quantité fait ses débuts à la Biennale de Paris de 1959, ce qui en est une illustration. Ces dispositifs étaient qualifiés de "métamatiques" en raison de leur nature autonome. Le conflit entre la créativité et l'expression humaine qui existe dans la société industrialisée était le but de Tinguely. Ces pièces sont considérées comme satiriques par les critiques et les expressionnistes abstraits contemporains.


Tinguely a commencé à incorporer la notion de risque élevé et d'imprévisibilité dans ses œuvres en raison de sa passion pour la course automobile. La manifestation la plus connue de cette passion est Homage to New York, dont la première mondiale a lieu le 18 mars 1960 au Museum of Modern Art. Elle a ouvert la voie à des œuvres autodestructrices ultérieures comme La Vittoria et Study for an End of the World (1962). (1970). Ces sculptures avaient un sens de la comédie et du sarcasme, tout en étant composées de ce qui semblait être des pièces trouvées sans lien entre elles, de mécanismes étrangement disposés et d'effets sonores cacophoniques. Chaque sculpture était considérée par l'artiste comme un être vivant, respirant, capable de parler et de se déplacer par lui-même. Tout en masquant ses commentaires sombres sur la production de masse et l'industrialisation croissante de la société par un humour franc et des aspects amusants, Tinguely se réjouissait de savoir que les spectateurs pouvaient trouver du plaisir dans son œuvre.


Conformément à ses facéties et à son attitude rebelle, Tinguely rejoint le Kuttlebutzer, un groupe d'artistes qui sert de comité artistique officieux pour le plus grand carnaval annuel "Fasnacht" de Bâle, en Suisse. Ce groupe d'artistes contestataires a pris l'initiative de définir la direction artistique des festivités. Après avoir commencé en 1974, Tinguely y a participé pendant environ 20 ans.


Ses œuvres reflètent l'humour et le charme de son comportement, ce qui lui permet de nouer des liens significatifs avec des fonctionnaires et des personnalités mondaines, ce qui se traduit par des commandes substantielles et des possibilités de mécénat.


Son association avec la famille Bechtler, une famille suisse prospère dont la vaste collection d'art est exposée au Bechtler Museum of Modern Art à Charlotte, en Caroline du Nord, en est une illustration durable. Nombre des objets découverts, comme une paire de bois de cerf, qui ont fini par se retrouver dans ses œuvres, ont été repérés pour la première fois dans la maison des Bechtler.


Tinguely et Niki de Saint Phalle se sont d'abord liés par leurs communautés créatives communes. À l'époque, ils étaient tous deux mariés à des conjoints différents. Malgré un écart générationnel important et des origines socio-économiques différentes - elle était issue d'une famille aristocratique française, alors que lui l'était - leur connexion s'est progressivement approfondie et a abouti au mariage. Ils avaient chacun un fort sentiment d'individualisme, comme d'autres couples d'artistes de l'époque, et ce sentiment d'individualité transparaissait lorsqu'ils travaillaient ensemble. Contrairement à la majorité des couples d'artistes de l'époque, tels que Diego Rivera et Frida Kahlo, Christo et Jean-Claude, et Jackson Pollock et Lee Krasner, ce partenariat était dominé par les hommes. Les "Bonnie and Clyde" de l'art moderne, on les appelle ainsi.

Au cours de leurs décennies de collaboration, de nombreuses œuvres communes ont été inspirées par la base de leur partenariat, qui reposait sur leur amour mutuel pour la création artistique. L'une des premières œuvres communes importantes a été exposée au Moderna Museet. Elle représentait une grande figure féminine en position allongée, les jambes écartées pour permettre l'accès aux spectateurs. Cette pièce est l'une des nombreuses sculptures "Nanas" de Saint Phalle. La "machine à orgasme" de Tinguely, une sculpture cinétique qu'il a créée, était logée à l'intérieur de la figure. Le duo a travaillé ensemble sur de nombreuses autres pièces sculpturales de grande envergure, dont Le Paradis Fantastique à Stockholm et la Fontaine Stravinsky à Paris. Les deux artistes se sont mutuellement assistés pour la création et l'installation de leurs œuvres individuelles lorsqu'ils ne travaillaient pas ensemble.


Le crépuscule de sa vie


Dans les années 1970, l’artiste sculpteur retourne seul en Suisse, tandis que Saint Phalle reste en France. Lorsqu'ils travaillent sur un projet commun, ils se rencontrent à son domicile en France. Pendant cette période et jusqu'à sa mort en 1991, il continue à créer des œuvres autodestructrices ainsi que d'importants projets publics. En 1970, Tinguely construit un phallus massif qu'il fait exploser devant la cathédrale de Milan. Un certain nombre de collaborations avec Saint Phalle et d'autres personnes sont incluses dans ces dernières œuvres. Il n'est pas surprenant que sa femme ait continué à le soutenir après sa mort, comme ils l'avaient fait durant leur carrière. Le Cyclope, un vaste travail de collaboration qui a duré 25 ans, a été supervisé par Niki de Saint Phalle, qui a également fait don de plusieurs de ses pièces à d'importants collectionneurs et institutions, perpétuant ainsi l'héritage de l'un des artistes sculpteurs les plus novateurs du mouvement artistique moderne.