Go back
THE OFFICIAL DIRECTORY OF CONTEMPORARY ARTISTS
Current locale language
Atget

The interior of a clothing store display is depicted in an image that plays with ambiguity. While the window arouses desire, the glass physically separates the customer who considers his own reflection mixed with the spectacle of the product. The photographies by Eugène Atget, both direct and enigmatic, earned him the nickname of "master of modern art" for his use of photography in order to separate the image from its social and cultural connotations, as well as aesthetic purposes. His images are recognized as making the link between the topographical photography of the 19th century and the art documentary of the 20th century, beyond the subjects that they describe. His art embodies an unwavering vision that places less importance on technical precision and more on the recording of pictorial space.


On the tragedy of photography

 
The working-class parents of Jean Eugène Auguste Atget, car manufacturer and saddler, and Clara-Adeline Atget gave birth to him in Libourne, France. A few years after changing my job After taking a job to become a traveling salesman, his father died as a result of an affair. His mother Clara also died very soon after. Victoire and Auguste Hourlier, his elderly grandparents, who lived in Bordeaux, took him in when he became an orphan at the age of five due to a difficult and cruel education. Atget quickly began to work. working as a cabin boy on boats.

 
Atget settled in Paris in 1878 and submitted an application for admission to the National Conservatory of Music and Dramatic Art, the first French theater institution. As he was poor and lived in a seedy part of town, he put all his faith in this chance. Unfortunately, he is also recruited in the military for five years of involuntary service after being discharged. rejection by the theater school. The artist photographer made a new request and was accepted. admitted a year later, because he was motivated to do so. to pursue an acting career. According to his mentor and well-known actor, Edmond Got, a promising career awaited him. Atget was only 1.5 m tall, which didn't make him look the best on stage, and Edmond Got later described his accent as "inelegant". He is sent back before graduating in 1881, the same year his grandparents died, due to a series of terrible incidents.

 
After having been licensed, Atget continued to work. occur. He started performing in small traveling troupes in the French countryside. Atget found this experience useful because he met many people, including Valentine Delafosse Compagnon, a fellow actor who became his long-time companion. After leaving the troupe, Atget quickly turned to painting as a new creative outlet. He did not receive official training in photography when he settled in Paris and began working as a professional photographer in 1888, but his decision is probably motivated by a need for money.

 


Discovering your market

 
In 1890, Atget created his own studio in 1890. Paris, at a time when Documentary photography is rapidly gaining popularity. It has a sign on the front that says Materials for Artists, and it sells photographs of landscapes, flowers, monuments and other things. In addition to serving artists, his work also benefits decorators, historians, metalsmiths, publishers, and ultimately national organizations. From 1897, Atget quickly understood that capturing old Paris would be his life's work. Baron Haussmann's public works and building renovations, which swept away the Paris à; the end of the 19th century, played an important role in the transformation of the city. Old structures and war-damaged streets are being demolished to make way for new buildings. more contemporary constructions. In order to preserve the architecture and ornamentation before they are lost to the future. ever, Atget undertook to photograph them.

 
If he is the only one Having had the idea of recording a changing Paris, he also discovered a market for which allows him to live. He continued to talk. lead an economical life, never throwing away paper that had not been used. totally used, wearing worn clothes and contenting himself with a reasonable diet of bread and milk (because of digestive problems, but also, he said, because everything that ;was more was an "immoderate luxury"). Because of his independent spirit and penchant for thrift, he also adopted archaic photography techniques, such as the cumbersome camera mounted on camera. on a tripod which uses glass plates. Instead of using traditional portable devices, he regularly used this enormous device that he carried around. the exterior. Albumen paper The camera he used for his film was also archaic, as was the film camera. tripod. Even after production of the film stopped, the artist was able to find the film and make a print of it. albumin.

 
Atget considered document creation to be his job. However, during his brief career as a painter and while he was residing in France at a time when Plein air painting quickly gained popularity, he Summer brought taking many photographs of nature, including water lilies, budding trees and haystacks, which are strongly reminiscent of impressionist painters like Monet. Nevertheless, Atget resists the desire to join one of the flourishing art or photography clubs of the time.

 
When he sold his photographs of Paris to various public institutions in 1898, including the Museum of Comparative Sculpture; and the Musée Carnavalet, and later, the Historical Library of the City of Paris and the Ecole des Beaux-Arts, among others, the artist photographer experienced his first significant professional success in photography. In 1901, the artist photographer succeeded in become an "expert" at Paris. His love of theater persisted and, in 1904, he began to perform. giving theater lectures in several Parisian institutions. Although his commercial success continued to grow, he would not obtain appropriate financing until much later. for his art, which will reinforce his archaic photographic methods and his frugal lifestyle.

 
Atget created relatively few, if any, photos after the start of the First World War. Photos of the old town of Paris were less popular after the war and people were more interested in seeing them. the way Paris was rebuilt. However, he enjoyed another financial triumph when he sold to 2,600,000 of his negatives on glass plates were produced by the French State. His sincere desire to capture Paris in its smallest details shows us how it works. how attached he was to his photography.

 


The impact of this artist's photography on currents of thought

 
The art of this photographer has been profoundly modified after seeing the surrealist Man Ray and his studio employee Bernice Abbott. Abbott saw the photos of Atget around Ray's studio and she started to shoot them. frequently visit Atget. When she could, Abbott bought her images. She eventually persuaded him to pose for a portrait in her studio. A year before his death, some surrealists contacted him. Atget to use one of his photographs for the cover of their publication, The Surrealist Revolution. They liked the surrealistic aspects of his photographs and the strange nature of his subjects. Even though he agreed, Atget did not want his name associated with the crime. He considered them as simple recordings rather than as works of art.

Découvrez quelques oeuvres inspirées de Atget

Named contemporary work « Koutoubia », Made by YVELISE BALLU PHOTOGRAPHIE
200 €
W. 50 x L. 70 x D. 70 cm
yvelise ballu photographie
Named contemporary work « Ville de Montpellier », Made by MORGANE FRN
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 1080 x L. 180 x D. 180 cm
morgane frn
Named contemporary work « Les maisons sur L'Agout », Made by TREIZEPHOTOGRAPHY
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 132.3 x L. 89.88 x D. 89.88 px
treizephotography
Named contemporary work « Sans titre », Made by SABINE LEGRAND
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 80 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
sabine legrand
Named contemporary work « Toits lombards », Made by PHILIPPE CHAISNé
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 21 x L. 29 x D. 29 cm
philippe chaisné
Named contemporary work « La passerelle du palais de justice (Lyon) », Made by DOMINIQUE COLON
240 €
W. 45 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
dominique colon
Named contemporary work « Contre-jour », Made by LAURENCE V
90 €
W. 80 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
laurence v
Named contemporary work « Palác piano », Made by ROBBIN_URBX
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 20 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
robbin_urbx
Named contemporary work « space needle », Made by PHILIPPE CHAISNé
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 21 x L. 29 x D. 29 cm
philippe chaisné
Named contemporary work « Par un Bel après-midi de mai », Made by HéLèNE PALAZY
80 €
W. 40 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
hélène palazy
Named contemporary work « Soir d'été », Made by LAURENCE V
50 €
W. 40 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
laurence v
Named contemporary work « Fenêtre sur Tour », Made by FLUORIT
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 20 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
fluorit
Named contemporary work « Bord de Sèvres », Made by THIERRY LE MOIGN
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 42 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
thierry le moign
Named contemporary work « Pas de soleil....Pas de bronzage........... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 68 x L. 48 x D. 48 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Elle court....Elle court......... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 70 x L. 53 x D. 53 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « COL D'aubisque......... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 75 x L. 45 x D. 45 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Magic sainte Thérèse », Made by B2L
250 €
W. 30 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
b2l
Named contemporary work « Vision », Made by LAURENCE V
80 €
W. 40 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
laurence v
Named contemporary work « Ronde Aquatique.... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 56 x L. 42 x D. 42 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « RENCONTRE AQUATIQUE... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 70 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Sortir du noir.... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 67 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Bull », Made by NOBILIASAPHUS
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 2500 x L. 2000 x D. 2000 cm
nobiliasaphus
Named contemporary work « Réveil Vintage », Made by LIMOUZI PHOTOS
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 45 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
limouzi photos
Named contemporary work « Gargouille », Made by PHILIPPE CHAISNé
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 21 x L. 29 x D. 29 cm
philippe chaisné
Named contemporary work « 7AM », Made by SHIRLEY
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 10.8 x L. 10.62 x D. 10.62 cm
shirley
Named contemporary work « come back to where it comes from », Made by DAVID SROCZYNSKI
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 12 x L. 25 x D. 25 cm
david sroczynski
Named contemporary work « Fleurs d'antant », Made by IGOR B. GLIK
550 €
W. 50 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
igor b. glik
Named contemporary work « Sans Fin......... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 66 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Sirène "la perfection" », Made by JANE BOVA
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 700 x L. 300 x D. 300 cm
jane bova
Named contemporary work « TORNADE..... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 50 x L. 67 x D. 67 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Ile de France », Made by KING LI
MAKE AN OFFER
king li
Named contemporary work « CHRIST », Made by YANN JOST
MAKE AN OFFER
yann jost
Named contemporary work « WOMEN WORLD », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 64 x D. 64 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Opéra de Düsseldorf », Made by ROMAIN THIBAUDAT
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 70 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
romain thibaudat
Named contemporary work « Déshabillage en coulisse..... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 55 x L. 56 x D. 56 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Trees..... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 45 x D. 45 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Reflet », Made by MARIE AUDE MONTIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 30 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
marie aude montier
Named contemporary work « Dommartin », Made by LAURENCE V
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 40 x L. 53 x D. 53 cm
laurence v
Named contemporary work « Zaza..... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 55 x L. 65 x D. 65 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « La Mosquée Bleue Istanbul », Made by NICOLAS ROUVIERE
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 30 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
nicolas rouviere
Named contemporary work « Blason », Made by CASSANDRE
200 €
W. 30 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
cassandre
Named contemporary work « Une Palette de couleurs............. », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 45 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « La poignée Chêne », Made by LAETITIA L
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 15 x L. 10 x D. 10 cm
laetitia l
Named contemporary work « Corpus Christi Causa Mentis : La Cène », Made by JEAN MARC MARC DELTOMBE
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 126 x L. 70 x D. 70 cm
jean marc marc deltombe
Named contemporary work « All Sembene », Made by MISTER ROOTS
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 68.58 x L. 68.58 x D. 68.58 px
mister roots
Named contemporary work « Chemins d'Aveyron - Ruelle à Saint Affrique », Made by ANNA SKURZEWSKA
260 €
W. 60 x L. 80 x D. 80 cm
anna skurzewska

Remonter

Ce site utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. En naviguant sur le site vous acceptez Notre politique de confidentialité.

Ok
Atget

L'intérieur de l'étalage d'un magasin de vêtements est représenté dans une image qui joue avec l'ambiguïté. Alors que la vitrine suscite le désir, le verre sépare physiquement le client qui considère son propre reflet mêlé au spectacle du produit. Les photographies d'Eugène Atget, à la fois directes et énigmatiques, lui ont valu le surnom de "maître de l'art moderne" pour son utilisation de la photographie afin de séparer l'image de ses connotations sociales et culturelles, ainsi qu'à des fins esthétiques. Ses images sont reconnues comme faisant le lien entre la photographie topographique du XIXe siècle et le documentaire d'art du XXe siècle, au-delà des sujets qu'elles décrivent. Son art incarne une vision inébranlable qui accorde moins d'importance à la précision technique et plus à l'enregistrement de l'espace pictural.


De la tragédie à la photographie

 
Les parents ouvriers de Jean Eugène Auguste Atget, fabricant de voitures et sellier, et Clara-Adeline Atget lui donnent naissance à Libourne, en France. Quelques années après avoir changé de métier pour devenir voyageur de commerce, son père décède des suites d'une affaire. Sa mère Clara est également décédée très peu de temps après. Victoire et Auguste Hourlier, ses grands-parents âgés, qui résidaient à Bordeaux, l'ont recueilli lorsqu'il est devenu orphelin à l'âge de cinq ans en raison d'une éducation difficile et cruelle. Atget a rapidement commencé à travailler comme garçon de cabine sur des bateaux.

 
Atget s'installe à Paris en 1878 et soumet une demande d'admission au Conservatoire national de musique et d'art dramatique, la première institution française de théâtre. Comme il était pauvre et vivait dans un quartier miteux de la ville, il a mis toute sa foi dans cette chance. Malheureusement, il est également recruté dans l'armée pour cinq ans de service involontaire après avoir été rejeté par l'école de théâtre. L’artiste photographe a fait une nouvelle demande et a été admis un an plus tard, car il était motivé pour poursuivre une carrière d'acteur. Selon son mentor et acteur bien connu, Edmond Got, une carrière prometteuse l'attendait. Atget ne mesurait qu'1,5 m, ce qui ne lui donnait pas la meilleure apparence sur scène, et Edmond Got qualifia plus tard son accent d'"inélégant". Il est renvoyé avant d'avoir obtenu son diplôme en 1881, l'année même du décès de ses grands-parents, en raison d'une série d'incidents terribles.

 
Après avoir été licencié, Atget a continué à se produire. Il a commencé à se produire dans de petites troupes itinérantes dans les campagnes françaises. Atget trouve cette expérience utile car il fait de nombreuses rencontres, dont Valentine Delafosse Compagnon, un camarade acteur qui devient son compagnon de longue date. Après avoir quitté la troupe, Atget se tourne rapidement vers la peinture comme nouvel exutoire créatif. Il n'a pas reçu de formation officielle en photographie lorsqu'il s'installe à Paris et commence à travailler comme photographe professionnel en 1888, mais sa décision est probablement motivée par un besoin d'argent.

 


La découverte de son marché

 
En 1890, Atget crée son propre studio à Paris, à une époque où la photographie documentaire gagne rapidement en popularité. Il a une enseigne sur la façade qui dit Documents pour artistes, et il vend des photographies de paysages, de fleurs, de monuments et d'autres choses encore. En plus de servir les artistes, son travail profite également aux décorateurs, aux historiens, aux forgerons, aux éditeurs et, finalement, aux organisations nationales. À partir de 1897, Atget comprend rapidement que capturer le vieux Paris sera l'œuvre de sa vie. Les travaux publics et les rénovations de bâtiments du baron Haussmann, qui ont balayé Paris à la fin du XIXe siècle, ont joué un rôle important dans la transformation de la ville. Les anciennes structures et les rues endommagées par la guerre sont démolies pour faire place à des constructions plus contemporaines. Afin de préserver l'architecture et l'ornementation avant qu'elles ne soient perdues à jamais, Atget a entrepris de les photographier.

 
S'il est le seul à avoir eu l'idée d'enregistrer un Paris en mutation, il a aussi découvert un marché qui lui permet de vivre. Il continua à mener une vie économe, ne jetant jamais le papier qui n'avait pas été totalement utilisé, portant des vêtements usés et se contentant d'un régime raisonnable de pain et de lait (à cause de problèmes digestifs, mais aussi, disait-il, parce que tout ce qui était plus était un "luxe immodéré"). En raison de son esprit d'indépendance et de son penchant pour les économies, il adopte également des techniques de photographie archaïques, comme l'appareil photo encombrant monté sur trépied qui utilise des plaques de verre. Au lieu d'utiliser les appareils portatifs classiques, il se servait régulièrement de cet énorme appareil qu'il transportait à l'extérieur. Le papier albuminé qu'il utilisait pour sa pellicule était également archaïque, tout comme la caméra à trépied. Même après l'arrêt de la production du film, l’artiste a pu retrouver la pellicule et en faire un tirage à l'albumine.

 
Atget considérait la création de documents comme son métier. Cependant, au cours de sa brève carrière de peintre et alors qu'il résidait en France à une époque où la peinture en plein air gagnait rapidement en popularité, il a été amené à prendre de nombreuses photographies de la nature, notamment de nénuphars, d'arbres bourgeonnants et de meules de foin, qui rappellent fortement les peintres impressionnistes comme Monet. Néanmoins, Atget résiste à l'envie de rejoindre l'un des clubs d'art ou de photographie florissants de l'époque.

 
Lorsqu'il vendit ses photographies de Paris à diverses institutions publiques en 1898, dont le Musée de Sculpture Comparé et le Musée Carnavalet, et plus tard, la Bibliothèque Historique de la Ville de Paris et l'École des Beaux-Arts, entre autres, l’artiste photographe connut son premier succès professionnel significatif dans la photographie. En 1901, l’artiste photographe réussit à devenir un "expert" à Paris. Son amour du théâtre persiste et, en 1904, il commence à donner des conférences théâtrales dans plusieurs institutions parisiennes. Bien que son succès commercial ne cesse de croître, il n'obtiendra que bien plus tard un financement approprié pour son art, ce qui confortera ses méthodes photographiques archaïques et son mode de vie frugal.

 
Atget a créé relativement peu de photos, voire aucune, après le début de la Première Guerre mondiale. Les photos de la vieille ville de Paris étaient moins populaires après la guerre et les gens s'intéressaient davantage à la façon dont Paris était reconstruit. Cependant, il a connu un autre triomphe financier lorsqu'il a vendu à l'État français 2 600 000 de ses négatifs sur plaque de verre. Son désir sincère de capturer Paris dans ses moindres détails montre à quel point il était attaché à sa photographie.

 


L’impact de la photographie cet artiste sur les courants de pensée

 
L'art de ce photographe a été profondément modifié après avoir vu le surréaliste Man Ray et son employée de studio Bernice Abbott. Abbott a vu les photos d'Atget autour du studio de Ray et elle a commencé à rendre fréquemment visite à Atget. Quand elle le pouvait, Abbott achetait ses images. Elle finit par le persuader de poser pour un portrait dans son studio. Un an avant sa mort, quelques surréalistes ont contacté Atget pour utiliser une de ses photographies pour la couverture de leur publication, La Révolution Surréaliste. Ils aimaient les aspects surréalistes de ses photographies et la nature étrange de ses sujets. Même s'il était d'accord, Atget ne voulait pas que son nom soit associé aux images, car il les considérait comme de simples enregistrements plutôt que comme des œuvres d'art.