Go back
THE OFFICIAL DIRECTORY OF CONTEMPORARY ARTISTS
Current locale language
Dali

Born May 11, 1904 in Figueras, Salvador Dalí is a painter, sculptor, engraver, scriptwriter and artist ;Catalan writer. He is rightly considered as one of the main precursors of surrealism and one of the most famous painters of the 20th century. Focus on the life, bibliography and works of the native of the Empordà region.

 

The artist's childhood and personal life

Salvador Domingo Felipe Jacinto Dalí i Domènech is the fruit of a union between Salvador Cusí and Felipa Domènech Ferrés. In 1908, the future painter was registered at the University of Paris. the public nursery school of Figueres, with teacher Esteban Trayter. In 1910, 2 years later, his father decided to enroll him in a new Institute. His choice fell on the Spanish-French college Inmaculada Concepción in Figueres. Salvador Dalí There he learned French, which he would later consider as his cultural language.

While he was only older, than 5 years old, the parents of young Dalí took him to his brother's grave. information title, Dalí was born 9 months after the death of his brother. The young boy already considers himself as being the reincarnation of his deceased brother. This visit marked the young Dalí and gave rise in him to the desire to prove his uniqueness. « I was born double. My brother, my first attempt, an extreme genius and therefore not viable, had still lived seven years before the accelerated circuits of his brain do not catch fire » Said young Salvador. It should be noted that the artist also had a sister 4 years younger than him.

Salvador’s father, a notary by profession, has always been a lawyer. described as an authoritarian parent. However, he accepted that his son embraces a career as an artist. His decision was motivated by the rise of Noucentisme in Catalonia. It is a cultural and political movement that was developing in the middle of the 20th century.

 

Salvador Dalí and his beginnings in the artistic world

During his childhood, Dalí was linked of friendship with future FC Barcelona players. With his friends, the young boy played football at the table. Cadaqués, a town located in the Province of Girona in Catalonia (Spain). It was precisely during an excursion to the port of this region that the little boy discovered contemporary painting in all its splendor. Indeed, in 1916, during a family visit, the young sculptor met the family of Ram&oac;n Pichot, an impressionist painter who frequently traveled abroad. Paris. On the advice of Pichot, Dalís father; sent the latter to take painting lessons. He then registers at at the municipal school of engraving and will take courses with Juan Núñez.

When he was 16, the future sculptor lost his mother Felipa. The following year, he obtained his Baccalaureate, then decided to settle down in Paris. Madrid. In this city, the aspiring painter settled in the famous Madrid student residence. He will then begin his higher studies at The Royal Academy of Fine Arts of San Fernando. He quickly attracts the attention of his comrades. because of his eccentric character. But, these are the paintings that Dalí was tinged with cubism, which attracted the most attention from his friends. There he met the future famous Spanish poet and playwright Federico Garcia Lorca.

Salvador Dalí will exhibit his first works in 1925 in Paris. the Dalmau gallery in Barcelona. He presented his painting « Young girl with the window,” a work for which his sister Maria posed. The second work was called « Portrait of my father » and these paintings already showed the extent of the talent of the sculptor artist. In 1927, he visited Paris and met Pablo Picasso whom he considered to be an artist. both as a rival and a role model. He worked on his mastery of pictorial techniques and in 1929, he quickly joined the circle of surrealists. He thus met René Magritte, Paul Eluard and André Breton. It owes its popularity to in France a short film that he made at the same time. the time with Luis Buñuel, An Andalusian Dog. He will fall madly in love with Paul Eluard's wife and the two will spend the rest of their lives together.

 

The famous works of Salvador Dalí

Salvador Dalí painted one of his most famous paintings in 1931. « Persistence of memory » called again the « Soft Watches » is a painting that is representative of the artist's painting style. For fans of surrealism, this painting remains a reference. He was exhibition for the first time at Julien Levy's art gallery in 1932. The work represents the beach of Portlligat decorated with gold watches. fondant gusset. Through this painting, the painter makes fun of the rigidity of nature. of time in opposition to; the persistence of memory. The universal theme to which the artist refers to through this masterpiece is time and death.

Another very famous work of the artist is « the face of war ». He achieved this painting in 1940 after the Spanish Civil War. The general theme of this painting is the representation of wars and despair. The work has a universal scope because the painter does not only refer to his work. the Second World War or the Spanish Civil War. On this oil painting; oil, Dalí denounces all conflicts which only lead to violence. death, destruction and nothingness.

With a pronounced taste for self-portraiture and trompe l'oeil images, Salvador is considered one of the world's leading artists. as an emblematic figure of surrealism. After withdrawing New York with his wife, he directed « Soft self-portrait with grilled bacon; ». The canvas measures 61 × 51 cm and she was exhibited at the Dalí from Figueres. According to its author, it is a « antipsychological self-portrait ». In addition to these few paintings, the artist has several other works to his name. its assets. It is estimated that more than 1500 the number of paintings created by the artist throughout his life.

 

Salvador Dalí : his last years and his death

The last years of life of Salvador Dalí have been marked by his meeting with Amanda Lear. The young singer, actress and presenter becomes the muse of the painter. In 1974, the Dalí was inaugurated in homage to the artist. Diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease in 1980, the sculptor lost his wife in 1982. He passed away on January 23, 1989 in Paris. Figueras, at the age of 84. His works are today exhibited in several museums across the country. New York, Spain and France.

Découvrez quelques oeuvres inspirées de Dali

Named contemporary work « Visible ... Invisible 1 », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 34 x L. 44 x D. 44 cm
chantou
Named contemporary work « Abstr'aqua 2 1 », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 32 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
chantou
Named contemporary work « Happy birthday », Made by FLETCHER-MAUNIER
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 30 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
fletcher-maunier
Named contemporary work « Cosmogonie », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 56 x L. 39 x D. 39 cm
chantou
Named contemporary work « M. rôde », Made by CAROLE GUICHOT
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 92 x D. 92 cm
carole guichot
Named contemporary work « Humain 5191 », Made by ALEXANDER BAGRAT
600 €
W. 100 x L. 70 x D. 70 cm
alexander bagrat
Named contemporary work « Abstr'aqua 2 2 », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
chantou
Named contemporary work « Déesse DMT , acrylique sur toile de lin. », Made by PERCIL
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 170 x L. 110 x D. 110 cm
percil
Named contemporary work « L'instinct maternel...! », Made by FLETCHER-MAUNIER
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 25 x L. 25 x D. 25 cm
fletcher-maunier
Named contemporary work « l'amant du futur », Made by PHILIPPE LECLERC
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 65 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
philippe leclerc
Named contemporary work « Beautée enracinée », Made by SABRINA M
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 80 x L. 120 x D. 120 cm
sabrina m
Named contemporary work « Près de la porte du Paradis », Made by AMALIA MEREU
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 24 x L. 19 x D. 19 cm
amalia mereu
Named contemporary work « passion », Made by ADJAR
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 100 x L. 81 x D. 81 cm
adjar
Named contemporary work « St john de la croix », Made by GIO
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 120 x L. 180 x D. 180 cm
gio
Named contemporary work « Transmutation », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 46 x L. 61 x D. 61 cm
chantou
Named contemporary work « Hommage à Dali », Made by ROBERT
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 45 x L. 55 x D. 55 cm
robert
Named contemporary work « Les jardins sous l'ocean », Made by CHEHADE
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 0 x L. 0 x D. 0 cm
chehade
Named contemporary work « Abstrac'aqua 1 », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 30 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
chantou
Named contemporary work « re-mort », Made by JACK KOW
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 21 x L. 29 x D. 29 cm
jack kow
Named contemporary work « Couple I », Made by MARCO
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 40 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
marco
Named contemporary work « Prêt pour la fête. .. », Made by FLETCHER-MAUNIER
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 19 x L. 25 x D. 25 cm
fletcher-maunier
Named contemporary work « Quai numéro 4 », Made by FLETCHER-MAUNIER
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 35 x L. 35 x D. 35 cm
fletcher-maunier
Named contemporary work « Alexandra », Made by GEORGES FAGET-BENARD
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 73 x L. 92 x D. 92 cm
georges faget-benard
Named contemporary work « ELEPHANTEEN », Made by HOëDIC
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 65 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
hoëdic
Named contemporary work « Globalité 3 », Made by YVES JEAN-MICHEL GONNORD
200 €
W. 24 x L. 32 x D. 32 cm
yves jean-michel gonnord
Named contemporary work « Aquarelle 3420 », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 10 x L. 10 x D. 10 cm
chantou
Named contemporary work « Thot et la musique », Made by EVELYNE PARIS-DEBRUN
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 19 x L. 24 x D. 24 cm
evelyne paris-debrun
Named contemporary work « UN POISSON DE MAI », Made by RG
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 81 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
rg
Named contemporary work « Connectique », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 70 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
chantou
Named contemporary work « l ' envers du décor », Made by JEAN-CHARLES BELLIARD
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 50 x L. 65 x D. 65 cm
jean-charles belliard
Named contemporary work « SLOANE IS BACK », Made by HOëDIC
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 65 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
hoëdic
Named contemporary work « Le Choix », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 72 x L. 52 x D. 52 cm
chantou
Named contemporary work « soirée pyjama », Made by FLETCHER-MAUNIER
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 21 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
fletcher-maunier
Named contemporary work « Emergence », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 47 x L. 35 x D. 35 cm
chantou
Named contemporary work « Quai numéro  13 », Made by FLETCHER-MAUNIER
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 36 x L. 36 x D. 36 cm
fletcher-maunier
Named contemporary work « Dagadalila », Made by FRANK
1 600 €
W. 86 x L. 71 x D. 71 cm
frank
Named contemporary work « Rêve d un autre monde », Made by MARIE-MURIEL
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 40 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
marie-muriel
Named contemporary work « la grosse tête », Made by FLETCHER-MAUNIER
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 21 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
fletcher-maunier
Named contemporary work « Tourments », Made by YVES JEAN-MICHEL GONNORD
650 €
W. 50 x L. 61 x D. 61 cm
yves jean-michel gonnord
Named contemporary work « " Adieu " », Made by MALIWAN DELPHINE SENN
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 8 x L. 7 x D. 7 cm
maliwan delphine senn
Named contemporary work « CIGALSWINGO », Made by BOSIO
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 0 x L. 0 x D. 0 cm
bosio
Named contemporary work « Rêves », Made by GABY
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 30 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
gaby
Named contemporary work « La Réceptivité », Made by TOMA BRü NO ERIK
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 100 x L. 230 x D. 230 cm
toma brü no erik
Named contemporary work « Insectus », Made by HOëDIC
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 42 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
hoëdic
Named contemporary work « 199109 », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
chantou
Named contemporary work « Quo Vadis 1990 », Made by PASCAL CHAUVEAU
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 100 x L. 100 x D. 100 cm
pascal chauveau
Named contemporary work « Concertiste », Made by JEAN-PIERRE MONANGE
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 73 x D. 73 cm
jean-pierre monange
Named contemporary work « charme hahaha », Made by MICHELI
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 50 x L. 65 x D. 65 cm
micheli
Named contemporary work « Visible ... Invisible 2 », Made by CHANTOU
MAKE AN OFFER
chantou
Named contemporary work « Pot au feu », Made by BENJAMIN DE GLIMME
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 50 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
benjamin de glimme

Remonter

Ce site utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. En naviguant sur le site vous acceptez Notre politique de confidentialité.

Ok
Dali

Né le 11 mai 1904 à Figueras, Salvador Dalí est un peintre, sculpteur, graveur, scénariste et écrivain catalan. Il est considéré à raison comme l'un des principaux précurseurs du surréalisme et l'un des peintres les plus célèbres du XXème siècle. Focus sur la vie, la bibliographie et les œuvres du natif de la région de l'Empordà.

 

L'enfance et la vie personnelle de l'artiste

Salvador Domingo Felipe Jacinto Dalí i Domènech est le fruit d'une union entre Salvador Cusí et Felipa Domènech Ferrés. En 1908, le futur peintre fut inscrit à l'École maternelle publique de Figueres, avec le professeur Esteban Trayter. En 1910, soit 2 ans plus tard, son père décide de l'inscrire dans un nouvel Institut. Son choix se porta sur le collège hispano-français Inmaculada Concepción de Figueres. Salvador Dalí y apprit le français qu'il considèrera plus tard comme sa langue culturelle.

Alors qu'il n'était âgé que de 5 ans, les parents du jeune Dalí l'emmenèrent sur la tombe de son frère. À titre d'information, Dalí est né 9 mois après le décès de son frère. Le jeune garçon se considère déjà comme étant la réincarnation de son frère décédé. Cette visite a marqué le jeune Dalí et a fait naitre en lui le désir de prouver son unicité. « Je naquis double. Mon frère, premier essai de moi-même, génie extrême et donc non viable, avait tout de même vécu sept ans avant que les circuits accélérés de son cerveau ne prennent feu » Dixit le jeune Salvador. Il faut noter que l'artiste eut également une sœur de 4 ans plus jeune que lui.

Le père de Salvador, notaire de profession, a toujours été décrit comme un parent autoritaire. Toutefois, il a accepté que son fils embrasse une carrière d'artiste. Sa décision fut motivée par l'essor en Catalogne du Noucentisme. Il s'agit d'un mouvement culturel et politique qui se développait en plein milieu du XXème siècle.

 

Salvador Dalí et ses débuts dans le monde artistique

Pendant son enfance, Dalí s'est lié d'amitié avec de futurs joueurs du FC Barcelone. Avec ses amis, le jeune garçon jouait au football à Cadaqués, une commune située dans la Province de Gérone en Catalogne (Espagne). C'est justement lors d'une excursion au port de cette région que le petit garçon découvrit la peinture contemporaine dans toute sa splendeur. En effet, en 1916, lors d'une visite familiale, le jeune sculpteur rencontra la famille de Ramón Pichot, un peintre impressionniste qui voyageait fréquemment à Paris. Sur conseils de Pichot, le père de Dalí envoya ce dernier suivre des cours de peinture. Il s'inscrit alors à l'école municipale de gravure at suivra des cours auprès de Juan Núñez.

Alors qu'il avait 16 ans, le futur artiste sculpteur perdit sa mère Felipa. Il obtiendra l'année qui suivit, son Bac, puis décidera de s'installer à Madrid. Dans cette ville, le peintre en devenir s'installa dans la célèbre résidence d'étudiants de Madrid. Il débutera alors ses études supérieures à l'Académie royale des beaux-arts de San Fernando. Il attire rapidement l'attention de ses camarades à cause de son caractère excentrique. Mais, ce sont les peintures que Dalí teintait de cubisme, qui attirèrent le plus l'attention de ses amis. Il y fit la rencontre du futur célèbre poète et dramaturge espagnol Federico Garcia Lorca.

Salvador Dalí exposera ses premières œuvres en 1925 à la galerie Dalmau de Barcelone. Il y présenta son tableau « Jeune fille à la fenêtre », une œuvre pour laquelle sa sœur Maria a posé. La seconde œuvre était baptisée « Portrait de mon père » et ces peintures montraient déjà l'étendue du talent de l'artiste sculpteur. En 1927, il visite Paris et fait la rencontre de Pablo Picasso qu'il considère à la fois comme un rival et un modèle. Il travaille sur sa maitrise des techniques picturales et en 1929, il intègre rapidement le cercle des surréalistes. Il fit ainsi la connaissance de René Magritte, Paul Eluard et André Breton. Il doit sa popularité en France à un court métrage qu'il réalisa à l'époque avec Luis Buñuel, Un chien andalou. Il tombera fou amoureux de la femme de Paul Eluard et les deux passeront le reste de leur vie ensemble.

 

Les œuvres célèbres de Salvador Dalí

Salvador Dalí a peint l'une de ses toiles les plus célèbres en 1931. « Persistance de la mémoire » encore appelé les « Montres molles » est un tableau qui est représentatif du style de peinture de l'artiste. Pour les adeptes du surréalisme, ce tableau demeure une référence. Il a été exposé pour la première fois à la galerie d'art de Julien Levy en 1932. L'œuvre représente la plage de Portlligat agrémentée de montres à gousset fondantes. À travers ce tableau, l'artiste peintre tourne en dérision la rigidité du temps en opposition à la persistance de la mémoire. Le thème universel auquel l'artiste fait référence à travers ce chef d'œuvre est le temps et la mort.

Une autre œuvre très célèbre de l'artiste est « le visage de la guerre ». Il a réalisé cette peinture en 1940 après la Guerre Civile Espagnole. La thématique générale de ce tableau est la représentation des guerres et du désespoir. L'œuvre a une portée universelle car l'artiste peintre ne fait pas uniquement référence à la Seconde Guerre Mondiale ou la Guerre civile d'Espagne. Sur cette peinture à huile, Dalí dénonce tous les conflits qui ne conduisent qu'à la mort, à la destruction et au néant.

Avec un goût prononcé pour l'autoportrait et les images trompe l'œil, Salvador est considéré comme une figure emblématique du surréalisme. Après s'être retiré à New York avec son épouse, il réalise « Autoportrait mou avec du lard grillé ». La toile mesure 61 × 51 cm et elle a été exposée au Théâtre-musée Dalí de Figueres. D'après son auteur, il s'agit d'un « autoportrait antipsychologique ». Outre ces quelques tableaux, L'artiste a plusieurs autres réalisations à son actif. On estime à plus de 1500 le nombre de toiles réalisées par l'artiste de toute sa vie.

 

Salvador Dalí : ses dernières années et sa mort

Les dernières années de vie de Salvador Dalí ont été marquées par sa rencontre avec Amanda Lear. La jeune chanteuse, actrice et animatrice devient l'égérie de l'artiste peintre. En 1974, le Théâtre-musée Dalí fut inauguré en hommage à l'artiste. Atteint de la maladie d'Alzheimer en 1980, l'artiste sculpteur perd sa femme en 1982. Il tirera sa révérence le 23 janvier 1989 à Figueras, à l'âge de 84 ans. Ses œuvres sont aujourd'hui exposées dans plusieurs musées à New-York, en Espagne et en France.