Go back
THE OFFICIAL DIRECTORY OF CONTEMPORARY ARTISTS
Current locale language
Falguière

Jean Alexandre Joseph Falguière, more commonly known as Alexandre Falguiè ;re, was born in Toulouse on September 7, 1831. He died in Paris on April 19, 1900. Alexandre Falguière was a sculptor , and painter, linked to the movement of Realism and influenced by the Quattrocento of the Italian Renaissance . His works are indeed very unique. s naturalist and realist pieces, created from live models. During his life, Alexandre Falguière sculpted busts, such as that of Auguste Rodin, his friend. He also directed sculptures of everyday scenes like the work entitled the door of the school, he represented nudes, famous people like Honoré by Balzac and Louis Pasteur, as well as figures from mythology (Isis) and allegories (Les arts) .

 

Birth, childhood and training

Alexandre Falguière was born inToulouse at his parents' home. His father, named Joseph is a craftsman. Alexandre is admitted to the Toulouse School of Fine Arts in the class of the
sculptor Bernard Griffoul-Dorval. Alexandre demonstrated a lot of talent at a very young age, and his promising abilities for drawing and modeling encourage the municipality to from Toulouse to grant him a scholarship, so that he can continue his training elsewhere. Paris. Installed in the capital, he first worked for the sculptors Albert-Ernest Carrier-Belleuse and Jean-Louis Chenillion. He entered the Beaux-Arts in Paris by competitive examination, in 1854. He joined the workshop of sculptor François Jouffroy. Five years later, he won the Grand Prix de Rome in sculpture thanks to his work. its bas-relief Wounded Mézence, preserved through intrepidity of his son Lausus.
Between 1860 and 1864, Alexandre Falguière was a boarder at; the Villa Medici in Rome. It’s Rome that he created his famous sculpture Winner in the Cockfight in 1864. He returned from Rome in 1866 to settle in Rome. Paris and begin his career as a professional artist. He exhibits at several times at the Salon de  https://www.artactif.com/oeuvres-contemporaines/peinture/# and sculpture, more simply known as the Salon, Paris. In 1867, he received a medal of honor for the work Tarcisius, Christian Martyr.

Career

 

Teacher

In 1882, Alexandre Falguière began his career ;being a teacher at Paris: it is named; professor at the School of Fine Arts. Alexandre Falguière counts among his students future famous sculptors including Antoine Bourdell e, sculptor of the famous statue The fruit, executed in 1906 and exhibited at the Bourdelle Museum in Paris. Paris. Alexandre Falguière is, at the same time as he is named as a professor at at the School of Fine Arts, elected member of the Academy of Fine Arts.
He received the rank of Commander of the Legion of Honor in 1889.

 

Sculptor


In 1898, the Sociétéété people of letters order from Auguste Renoir a sculpture dedicated to Honoré by Balzac. The work proposed by Auguste Renoir was rejected by the sponsors, and it was Alexandre Falguiére who received the commission. The affair caused a lot of noise but the two sculptors remained friends despite this incident, and each created a bust of the other.
Alexandre Falguière knew achieved immense success as a professional sculptor and received numerous commissions, both public and private.
Thus, several municipalities ordered statues of famous people from him: Léon Gambetta à; Cahors, Honoré by Balzac, Louis Pasteur and Ambroise Thomas Paris, Alphonse de Lamartine à; Macon, The Marquis de La Fayette à; Washington.
Alexandre Falguière is also wanted. for quality portraits and busts that he created: Victor Hugo, Auguste Rodin, but also Pierre Corneille, are among the faces he immortalized in stone.

 

Influences

Alexandre Falguière was also part, with a few others artists like Antoine Mercié and Paul Dubois, from the Florentine Group, who were inspired by the Italian Quattrocento, that is to say the century of the First Renaissance, which is characterized by a veneration of the human being, of his intelligence and his beauty, and which translates into art through sensual and realistic representations of bodies. This is how Alexandre Falguière created several sculptures inspired by Greek and Roman mythology, such as Diane, Diane the Huntress em> or even Cléo de Mérode. The artist represents the body, often feminine, in a realistic and sensual way, with unusual, innovative movements, true artistic prowess, as is the case. case for example of the Hunting Nymph, seized in full action, shooting at her; arch, right arm and left leg raised.

Painting

In addition to his career as a sculptor, Alexandre Falguière, who was trained painting, produced several paintings. He achieved several large-format canvases, all deeply marked by the realism that characterizes all of his artistic work. This is the case with the painting Les Lutteurs, created in 1875, with Diane Seated executed in 1878, and with Madeleine , religious composition, exhibited at the Salon in 1887.

Major works
Among the most striking works of this artist, we can remember, for their beauty; and their originality :  Asia, 1878, visible on the square in front of the Orsay Museum in Paris. Paris,
the door of the school, 1887, kept at the Musée des Augustins de Toulouse,
The woman with the peacock, 1890, kept at the Museum ;e des Augustins de Toulouse,
The statue of Alphonse Daudet, 1900, visible on the Square de la Couronne in Paris. Nîmes.

 

Personal life and death


Installed; Paris, rue d’Assas, Alexandre Falguière was married to Blanche Veidie, of whom he was the eldest; 20 years old. In 1900, very ill, A lexandre Falguière made the effort to go to Paris. Nîmes to inaugurate the statue dedicated to Alphonse Daudet. Very weak, he must nevertheless return quickly to his home. Paris, where he died on April 19, 1900. Alexandre Falguière was buried there. at the Père-Lachaise cemetery.

 

Coast and contemporary success


Nowadays, the sculptures of Alexandre Falguière, if they are less well known than that of Auguste Rodin , are nevertheless very popular and can sell for significant sums. Thus, a bronze representing the goddess Isis was created. awarded for 18,000 euros in May 2014 at New York. And Phryné, another very sensual bronze, executed in in 1867 by the artist, sold in 2012 to London for more than 30,000 pounds sterling. Finally, the allegory The arts, comprising four characters representing music, poetry, sculpture and painting, was added. awarded in 2013 at Paris for the sum of 165,000 euros.

Découvrez quelques oeuvres inspirées de Falguière

Named contemporary work « Vénus », Made by ZEF
900 €
W. 7 x L. 27 x D. 27 cm
zef
Named contemporary work « jeune fille aux pommes », Made by BILAL
MAKE AN OFFER
bilal
Named contemporary work « Saut de L'Ange », Made by XAVIER COLIN
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 21 x L. 54 x D. 54 cm
xavier colin
Named contemporary work « homme-lion », Made by FLORENCE SAGITTARIO
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 21 x L. 26 x D. 26 cm
florence sagittario
Named contemporary work « EXTENTION 1/8 », Made by BERNARD LAMBOT
3 600 €
W. 19 x L. 36 x D. 36 cm
bernard lambot
Named contemporary work « Plaisir », Made by BLAISE DEVISSI
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 24 x L. 36 x D. 36 cm
blaise devissi
Named contemporary work « SAUT D'OBSTACLE 3 chevaux », Made by XAVIER CARNOY
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 40 x L. 26 x D. 26 cm
xavier carnoy
Named contemporary work « CHEVAL BUSTE (2ème vue) », Made by XAVIER CARNOY
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 36 x L. 35 x D. 35 cm
xavier carnoy
Named contemporary work « SAUT D'OBSTACLE 5 chevaux », Made by XAVIER CARNOY
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 57 x L. 21 x D. 21 cm
xavier carnoy
Named contemporary work « ACCLAMATION 1/8 », Made by BERNARD LAMBOT
4 250 €
W. 43 x L. 36 x D. 36 cm
bernard lambot
Named contemporary work « TABEE », Made by LA FILLE DU VENT
680 €
W. 100 x L. 1050 x D. 1050 cm
la fille du vent
Named contemporary work « Alchimie », Made by GéRALD HACH
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 28 x L. 30 x D. 30 cm
gérald hach
Named contemporary work « PIETRA 1/8 », Made by BERNARD LAMBOT
3 600 €
W. 30 x L. 38 x D. 38 cm
bernard lambot
Named contemporary work « SAGESSE  1/8 », Made by BERNARD LAMBOT
3 550 €
W. 33 x L. 34 x D. 34 cm
bernard lambot
Named contemporary work « SAUT D'OBSTACLE 3 CHEVAUX (2ème vue) », Made by XAVIER CARNOY
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 40 x L. 26 x D. 26 cm
xavier carnoy
Named contemporary work « chat », Made by FLORENCE SAGITTARIO
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 22 x L. 31 x D. 31 cm
florence sagittario
Named contemporary work « PAIX INTERIEURE », Made by SOPHIE DU BUISSON
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 15 x L. 19 x D. 19 cm
sophie du buisson
Named contemporary work « intimité », Made by MARAVALPA
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 15 x L. 15 x D. 15 cm
maravalpa
Named contemporary work « Barbe Bleue », Made by CAROLE SCHOENI
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 21 x L. 90 x D. 90 cm
carole schoeni
Named contemporary work « moulage de corps », Made by ZILINSKI
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 40 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
zilinski
Named contemporary work « Hybris », Made by CAROLE SCHOENI
MAKE AN OFFER
carole schoeni
Named contemporary work « SAUT D'OBSTACLE 5 chevaux (autre vue) », Made by XAVIER CARNOY
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 57 x L. 21 x D. 21 cm
xavier carnoy
Named contemporary work « Cheval buste », Made by XAVIER CARNOY
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 36 x L. 35 x D. 35 cm
xavier carnoy
Named contemporary work « FARNIENTE », Made by BERNARD LAMBOT
6 250 €
W. 34 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
bernard lambot
Named contemporary work « L'Envol », Made by XAVIER COLIN
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 72 x D. 72 cm
xavier colin
Named contemporary work « Sensation », Made by GéRALD HACH
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 38 x L. 55 x D. 55 cm
gérald hach
Named contemporary work « PAROLE », Made by BERNARD LAMBOT
5 600 €
W. 36 x L. 47 x D. 47 cm
bernard lambot
Named contemporary work « REFLEXION 1/8 », Made by BERNARD LAMBOT
4 550 €
W. 15 x L. 34 x D. 34 cm
bernard lambot
Named contemporary work « LE GUERRIER -détail », Made by MERRY K.
MAKE AN OFFER
merry k.
Named contemporary work « L'EVEIL », Made by BERNARD LAMBOT
6 250 €
W. 38 x L. 47 x D. 47 cm
bernard lambot
Named contemporary work « Femme », Made by ZEF
380 €
W. 3 x L. 14 x D. 14 cm
zef
Named contemporary work « DETENTE 1/8 », Made by BERNARD LAMBOT
6 900 €
W. 30 x L. 38 x D. 38 cm
bernard lambot

Remonter

Ce site utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. En naviguant sur le site vous acceptez Notre politique de confidentialité.

Ok
Falguière

Jean Alexandre Joseph Falguière, plus communément connu sous le nom d’ Alexandre Falguière, est né à Toulouse le 7 septembre 1831. Il s’éteint à Paris le 19 avril 1900. Alexandre Falguière était sculpteur, et peintre, rattaché au courant du Réalisme et influencé par le Quattrocento de la Renaissance italienne. Ses œuvres sont en effet très naturalistes et réalistes, élaborées à partir de modèles vivants. Au cours de sa vie, Alexandre Falguière a sculpté des bustes, comme celui d’Auguste Rodin, son ami. Il a aussi réalisé des sculptures de scènes du quotidien comme l’œuvre intitulée À la porte de l’école , il a représenté des nus, des personnages célèbres comme Honoré de Balzac et Louis Pasteur, ainsi que des figures de la mythologie ( Isis ) et des allégories ( Les arts).

 

Naissance, enfance et formation

Alexandre Falguière naît à Toulouse au domicile de ses parents. Son père, prénommé Joseph, est artisan. Alexandre est admis à l’école des beaux-arts de Toulouse dans la classe du sculpteur Bernard Griffoul-Dorval. Alexandre faire preuve très jeune de beaucoup de talent, et ses capacités prometteuses pour le dessin et le modelage encouragent la municipalité de Toulouse à lui allouer une bourse, afin qu’il puisse partir poursuivre sa formation à Paris. Installé dans la capitale, il travaille d’abord pour les sculpteurs Albert-Ernest Carrier-Belleuse et Jean-Louis Chenillion. Il entre aux Beaux-Arts de Paris sur concours, en 1854. Il intègre l’atelier du sculpteur François Jouffroy. Cinq ans plus tard, il remporte le grand prix de Rome en sculpture grâce à son bas-relief Mézence blessé, préservé par l’intrépidité de son fils Lausus.
Entre 1860 et 1864, Alexandre Falguière est pensionnaire à la villa Médicis de Rome. C’est à Rome qu’il exécute sa célèbre sculpture Vainqueur au combat de coqs en 1864. Il revient de Rome en 1866 pour s’installer à Paris et commencer sa carrière d’artiste professionnel. Il expose à plusieurs reprises au Salon de https://www.artactif.com/oeuvres-contemporaines/peinture/# et de sculpture, plus simplement connu comme le Salon, à Paris. En 1867, il y reçoit une médaille d’honneur pour l’œuvre Tarcisius, martyr chrétien.

Carrière

 

Enseignant

En 1882, Alexandre Falguière débute sa carrière d’enseignant à Paris : il est nommé professeur à l’École des beaux-arts. Alexandre Falguière compte parmi ses élèves de futurs sculpteurs célèbres dont Antoine Bourdelle, sculpteur de la célèbre statue Le fruit, exécutée en 1906 et exposée au Musée Bourdelle à Paris. Alexandre Falguière est, en même temps qu’il est nommé comme professeur à l’École des beaux-arts, élu membre de l’Académie des beaux-arts.
Il reçoit le grade de commandeur de la Légion d’honneur en 1889.

 

Sculpteur


En 1898, la Société des gens de lettres commande à Auguste Renoir une sculpture dédiée à Honoré de Balzac. L’œuvre proposée par Auguste Renoir est rejetée par les commanditaires, et c’est Alexandre Falguière qui reçoit la commande. L’affaire fait grand bruit mais les deux sculpteurs restent amis en dépit de cet incident, et exécutent chacun un buste de l’autre.
Alexandre Falguière connaît un immense succès en tant que sculpteur professionnel et reçoit quantités de commandes, publiques comme privées.
Ainsi, plusieurs municipalités lui commandent des statues de personnages célèbres : Léon Gambetta à Cahors, Honoré de Balzac, Louis Pasteur et Ambroise Thomas à Paris, Alphonse de Lamartine à Macon, Le Marquis de La Fayette à Washington.
Alexandre Falguière est également recherché pour la qualité des portraits et des bustes qu’il réalise : Victor Hugo, Auguste Rodin, mais aussi Pierre Corneille, font partie des visages qu’il a immortalisés dans la pierre.

 

Influences

Alexandre Falguière faisait par ailleurs partie, avec quelques autres artistes comme Antoine Mercié et Paul Dubois, du Groupe des Florentins, qui s’inspiraient du Quattrocento italien, c’est-à-dire du siècle de la Première Renaissance, qui se caractérise par une vénération de l’être humain, de son intelligence et de sa beauté, et qui se traduit en art par des représentations sensuelles et réalistes des corps. C’est ainsi qu’Alexandre Falguière exécute plusieurs sculptures inspirées de la mythologie grecque et romaine, telles que Diane, Diane chasseresse ou encore Cléo de Mérode. L’artiste représente le corps, souvent féminin, de manière réaliste et sensuelle, avec des mouvements inhabituels, novateurs, véritables prouesses artistiques, comme c’est le cas par exemple de la Nymphe chasseresse, saisie en pleine action, tirant à l’arc, le bras droit et la jambe gauche relevés.

Peinture

En plus de sa carrière de sculpteur, Alexandre Falguière, qui était formé à la peinture, a produit plusieurs tableaux. Il a réalisé plusieurs toiles de grand format, toutes profondément marquées par le réalisme qui caractérise toute son œuvre d’artiste. Ainsi en est-il de la toile Les Lutteurs, réalisée en 1875, de Diane assise exécutée en 1878, et de Madeleine, composition religieuse, exposée au Salon en 1887.

Œuvres majeures
Parmi les œuvres les plus marquantes de cet artiste, on peut retenir, pour leur beauté et leur originalité :  L’Asie, 1878, visible sur le parvis du musée d’Orsay à Paris,
À la porte de l’école, 1887, conservée au Musée des Augustins de Toulouse,
La femme au paon, 1890, conservée au Musée des Augustins de Toulouse,
La statue d’Alphonse Daudet, 1900, visible sur le Square de la Couronne à Nîmes.

 

Vie personnelle et mort


Installé à Paris, rue d’Assas, Alexandre Falguière était marié à Blanche Veidie, dont il était l’aîné de 20 ans. En 1900, très malade, Alexandre Falguière fait l’effort de se rendre à Nîmes pour inaugurer la statue dédiée à Alphonse Daudet. Très faible, il doit cependant rentrer précipitamment à Paris, où il s’éteint le 19 avril 1900. Alexandre Falguière est inhumé au cimetière du Père-Lachaise.

 

Côte et succès contemporain


De nos jours, les sculptures d’Alexandre Falguière, si elles sont moins connues que celle d’Auguste Rodin, sont néanmoins très prisées et peuvent se vendre pour des sommes importantes. Ainsi, un bronze représentant la déesse Isis a été adjugé pour 18000 euros en mai 2014 à New York. Et Phryné, autre bronze très sensuel, exécuté en 1867 par l’artiste, s’est vendu en 2012 à Londres pour plus de 30000 livres sterling. Enfin, l’allégorie Les arts, comportant quatre personnages représentant la musique, la poésie, la sculpture et la peinture, a été adjugé en 2013 à Paris pour la somme de 165000 euros.