Go back
THE OFFICIAL DIRECTORY OF CONTEMPORARY ARTISTS
Current locale language
Rheims

Bettina Rheims was born on December 18, 1952 in Neuilly-sur-Seine. She is She comes from a family of Alsatian Jews and is the granddaughter of General Léon Rheims. She is also related to the branch of the Rothschild family. She continued her studies at the Victor Duruy high school before becoming friends with Nicole Wisniak. But she was expelled from her high school after having sewn a head died during a sewing class. She decides to start out as a artist photographer in 1978.

These first subjects are acrobats and a striptease group which allowed him to make his first performances. Undeniably, his favorite subject begins at that time. to take shape: the feminine model. Throughout his career, this subject will be a real common thread. During the 1980s, she produced numerous portraits of famous women which she brought together in a work « Female Trouble ».

 

Quick recognition from 1982

Indeed, the year 1982 was particularly significant for this photographer. She published the series « Animal ». This time, the photographies focus on another form nudity. More precisely stuffed animals, because she is attracted by their fixed gaze. For her, it is an expression beyond of death that she wishes to capture through her photographs.

During this same period, she multiplied the artistic creations to new heights. through record covers for big names in French song such as Jean-Jacques Goldman, Julien Clerc, Bernard Lavilliers, France Gall or even Johnny Hallyday . The singer Desireless calls on his services for the design of his music video Voyage, Voyage in 1986.

From the 1989s, she wondered about transsexuality. and androgyny with its work « Modern Lovers ». She remained on the same theme in 1992 with her work « The Spies » and in 1994 with « Kim ».

 

The turning point of the 1990s

Rheims is working on a major work which she entitles « closed room ». If we speak of a turning point, it is because she begins her collaboration with Serge Bramly, the famous novelist. Thus sees the birth of a work in which the writer's story is mixed with his photographs.

 

The « closed room » are a form of parody of the first pornographic illustrations. For this, she uses a simplistic decor with worn walls and wallpaper in poor condition. But for the artiste it is above all a question of using models not professionals by highlighting eroticism by creating a certain form of confusion for their audience.

It is necessary to underline the extreme quality of this article. prints and the intelligent use of color giving the impression that the flesh is alive. The result is absolutely disconcerting with remarkable realism. Rheims succeeds in express all of femininity primitive in his work while also seeking to express more or less repressed impulses.

Impulses that the artist succeeds in fulfilling. capture thanks to his film. In 1995, Jacques Chirac decided to invite Bettina Rheims to following his presidential campaign to work on photos retracing his path to the election. It was also this artist who produced his official portrait. She subsequently declared that she wanted to give a relaxed look to President Chirac by drawing inspiration from the greatest heroes of the western period.

In 1999, the INRI exhibition completed its works of the decade by collaborating once again with the novelist Serge Bramly. It is a philosophical dialogue tracing back to both the life of Jesus Christ, but also key religious moments such as the annunciation and the ascension. The theme revolves around the crucifixion. But his photographs are undeniably in the spirit of the times and that is why his photographs have been taken from the same perspective as if Jesus returned today.

 

Rheims and the 2000s

 

In 2002, Bettina Rheims traveled several times to Paris. Shanghai and she decided to produce a series on this theme. Three years later, an exhibition was held at the Noirmont gallery entitled « heroines ». His artistic work pays homage to sculpture and she began a first collaboration with Jean Colonna, a renowned creator. His work consists of: dress women using original clothing by revisiting old fashions of haute couture dresses and juxtaposing them with new styles. contemporary icons.

In 2010, she renewed her collaboration with Serge Bramly for the exhibition " Rose, it’s Paris " the National Library of France. The entire plot is a fiction imagined by the two people using autobiographical elements. The City of Paris takes on the role of the muse and symbolic characters are used to characterize the story in an allegorical way.

 

Questioning gender

 

Since the 1990s, Bettina Rheims has been interested in humankind. She decides to take up this theme again. Düsseldorf to through the series « Gender ». She produced a total of 27 portraits of young women and men who were completely unknown after a call she launched. on Facebook. To do this, she obviously uses photography, but also extracts from interviews to make her exhibition more realistic. Four years later, in March 2016, she held an exhibition at the European house of photography.

In 2018, she became interested in women prisoners and created an exhibition, known as « inmates ». The first takes place at Saint Chapelle de Vincennes and the second in proximity from Bordeaux.

In total, she created more than 230,000 works which she bequeathed in their entirety to the the Lille Institute for Photography. Bettina Rheims continues to take photos as if they were real ceremonies. His artistic sense is immediately identifiable and these reverential images have now become iconic.

Découvrez quelques oeuvres inspirées de Rheims

Named contemporary work « The Forest..... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 70 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Les Prédateurs.......... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 72 x L. 54 x D. 54 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « SPIDER MAN part 1 », Made by NOURDINE TARKANY
PRIVATE COLLECTION
W. 30 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
nourdine tarkany
Named contemporary work « Patience... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 40 x L. 65 x D. 65 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Avec couleurs, sans filtre (2) », Made by MARINE PH
200 €
W. 40 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
marine ph
Named contemporary work « Recharge................ », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 50 x L. 74 x D. 74 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Fragile.... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 50 x L. 67 x D. 67 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « CROCODILE FUSION............... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 45 x D. 45 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Clair-obscur..... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 45 x D. 45 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « the sea of time », Made by SARAH LOUETTE
MAKE AN OFFER
sarah louette
Named contemporary work « Comme Un tableau...... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 65 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Haiku du piège », Made by SARAH LOUETTE
MAKE AN OFFER
sarah louette
Named contemporary work « Féconde », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 73 x D. 73 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Cry », Made by MAX AMS
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 100 x L. 100 x D. 100 cm
max ams
Named contemporary work « Haiku du requin », Made by SARAH LOUETTE
MAKE AN OFFER
sarah louette
Named contemporary work « Ouvre moi la porte.... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 65 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Elles.... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 67 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Waiting », Made by SARAH LOUETTE
MAKE AN OFFER
sarah louette
Named contemporary work « Romy.... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 50 x L. 61 x D. 61 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « HIROSHIMA MON AMOUR », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 70 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « NU 01 », Made by FRéDéRIC DIDILLON
PRIVATE COLLECTION
frédéric didillon
Named contemporary work « Funny Party », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 61 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « DENTELLES DE CHARDONS », Made by MéLISSOISE
200 €
W. 80 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
mélissoise
Named contemporary work « Baignade à la Napoule », Made by BART
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 70 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
bart
Named contemporary work « CLOSER...... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 60 x L. 63 x D. 63 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Haiku des confettis », Made by SARAH LOUETTE
MAKE AN OFFER
sarah louette
Named contemporary work « ROSEINLOVIO », Made by BOSIO
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 0 x L. 0 x D. 0 cm
bosio
Named contemporary work « Autoportrait », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 69 x L. 50 x D. 50 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Après L'Amour............ », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 50 x L. 67 x D. 67 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Route 66, Police 2019/2023 », Made by RéGY
200 €
W. 60 x L. 40 x D. 40 cm
régy
Named contemporary work « The End................... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 68 x L. 49 x D. 49 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Pensée..... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 75 x L. 60 x D. 60 cm
philippe berthier
Named contemporary work « Une ville Fantôme.... », Made by PHILIPPE BERTHIER
MAKE AN OFFER
W. 70 x L. 43 x D. 43 cm
philippe berthier

Remonter

Ce site utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. En naviguant sur le site vous acceptez Notre politique de confidentialité.

Ok
Rheims

Bettina Rheims est née le 18 décembre 1952 à Neuilly-sur-Seine. Elle est issue d’une famille de juifs alsaciens et c’est la petite fille du général Léon Rheims. Elle est également apparentée à la branche de la famille Rothschild. Elle poursuit ses études au lycée Victor Duruy avant de se lier d’amitié avec Nicole Wisniak. Mais elle se fit exclure de son lycée après avoir cousu une tête de mort pendant un cours de couture. Elle décide de se lancer en tant qu’artiste photographe en 1978.

Ces premiers sujets sont des acrobates et un groupe de strip-teases qui lui permit de faire ses premières représentations. Indéniablement, son sujet de prédilection commence à se dessiner : le modèle féminin. Tout au long de sa carrière, ce sujet sera un véritable fil conducteur. Durant les années 80, elle réalise de nombreux portraits de femmes célèbres qu’elle regroupe dans un ouvrage « Female Trouble ».

 

Une reconnaissance rapide à partir de 1982

En effet, l’année 1982 fut particulièrement marquante pour cette photographe. Elle publie la série « Animal ». Cette fois-ci, les photographies s’attardent sur une autre forme de nudité. Plus précisément les animaux naturalisés, car elle est attirée par leur regard fixe. Pour elle, il s’agit d’une expression au-delà de la mort qu’elle souhaite capturer à travers ses photographies.

Durant cette même période, elle multiplie les créations artistiques à travers des pochettes de disques pour des grands noms de la chanson française comme Jean-Jacques Goldman, Julien Clerc, Bernard Lavilliers, France Gall ou encore Johnny Hallyday. La chanteuse Desireless fait appel à ses services pour la conception de son clip Voyage, Voyage en 1986.

À partir des années 89, elle s’interroge sur la transsexualité et l’androgynie avec son œuvre « Modern Lovers ». Elle restera sur la même thématique en 1992 avec son ouvrage « Les Espionnes » et en 1994 avec « Kim ».

 

Le tournant des années 1990

Rheims travaille sur une œuvre majeure qu’elle intitule « chambre close ». Si l’on parle de tournant, c’est parce qu’elle commence sa collaboration avec Serge Bramly, le célèbre romancier. Ainsi voit la naissance d’un ouvrage dans lequel se mêle le récit de l’écrivain avec ses photographies.

 

Les séries « chambre close » sont une forme de parodie des premières illustrations pornographiques. Pour cela, elle utilise un décor simpliste avec des murs défraîchis et du papier peint en mauvais état. Mais il s’agit surtout pour l’artiste d’utiliser des modèles non professionnels en mettant en avant l’érotisme en créant une certaine forme de confusion pour son auditoire.

Il faut souligner l’extrême qualité des tirages et l’utilisation intelligente de la couleur donnant l’impression que la chair est vivante. Le résultat est absolument déconcertant avec un réalisme remarquable. Rheims réussit à exprimer toute la féminité primitive dans son œuvre en cherchant également à exprimer des pulsions plus ou moins refoulées.

Des pulsions que l’artiste réussit à capturer grâce à sa pellicule. En 1995, Jacques Chirac décide d’inviter Bettina Rheims à la suite de sa campagne présidentielle pour travailler sur des clichés retraçant son parcours vers l’élection. C’est également cet artiste qui réalisa son portrait officiel. Elle déclara par la suite qu’elle a voulu donner une allure détendue au président Chirac en s’inspirant des plus grands héros de la période western.

En 1999, l’exposition INRI vient terminer ses œuvres de la décennie en collaborant une fois de plus avec le romancier Serge Bramly. C’est un dialogue philosophique retraçant à la fois la vie de Jésus-Christ, mais également des moments religieux clés comme l’annonciation et l’ascension. La thématique tourne autour de la crucifixion. Mais ses photographies sont indéniablement dans l’air du temps et c’est pourquoi ses photographies ont été prises dans la même optique que si Jésus revenait aujourd’hui.

 

Rheims et les années 2000

 

En 2002, Bettina Rheims se déplace plusieurs fois à Shanghai et elle décide de réaliser une série sur cette thématique. Trois ans plus tard, une exposition a eu lieu à la galerie de Noirmont s’intitulant « héroïnes ». Son œuvre artistique rend hommage à la sculpture et elle entame une première collaboration avec Jean Colonna, un créateur de renom. Son travail consiste à habiller les femmes en utilisant des vêtements originaux en revoyant les anciennes modes des robes de haute couture et les en juxtaposant à des icônes contemporaines.

En 2010, elle renouvelle sa collaboration avec Serge Bramly pour l’exposition « Rose, c’est Paris » à la Bibliothèque nationale de France. Toute la trame est une fiction imaginée par les deux personnes en utilisant des éléments autobiographiques. La Ville de Paris endosse le rôle de la muse et des personnages symboliques sont utilisés pour caractériser l’histoire de façon allégorique.

 

Le questionnement du genre

 

Dès les années 90, Bettina Rheims s’intéresse sur le genre humain. Elle décide de reprendre cette thématique à Düsseldorf à travers la série « Gender ». Elle réalise un total de 27 portraits de jeunes femmes et des hommes totalement inconnus après un appel qu’elle a lancé sur Facebook. Pour cela, elle utilise bien évidemment la photographie, mais également des extraits d’interviews pour rendre plus réaliste son exposition. Quatre ans plus tard, en mars 2016, elle réalise une exposition à la maison européenne de la photographie.

En 2018, elle s’intéresse aux femmes prisonnières et elle réalise une exposition, connue sous le nom de « détenues ». La première a lieu à Saint Chapelle de Vincennes et la deuxième à proximité de Bordeaux.

Au total, elle réalisa plus de 230 000 œuvres qu’elle légua intégralement à l’institut pour la photographie de Lille. Bettina Rheims continue à réaliser des prises de vues comme s’il s’agissait de véritables cérémonies. Son sens artistique est immédiatement identifiable et ces images révérencieuses sont aujourd’hui devenues iconiques.